Skip to content

rejoice & tragedy

November 7, 2008

The good or the bad news first?  

While at The Post-Standard last Friday, I photographed the local food pantry in Manlius.  But, when I was editing my photos–a fire was announced over the police scanner.  I immediately volunteered to run out and shoot.  The firefighters had put out the fire by the time I arrived, but I still learned from the experience.  It was a frenzy with upset neighbors, a traumatized victim and 50 firefighters running all over the place.  I had a hard time getting in front of the victim because I didn’t want to be intrusive, but at the same time I knew that I needed to do my job.

On election night, I went to the People’s A.M.E. Zion Church on S. Salina St. in Syracuse to watch the results.  I knew that the decision would have great meaning to the African American population–but hearing their stories about the struggles they faced in the 60s, how much they’ve overcome; seeing the unity in the congregation, with the community, with all races; and feeling the emotion in their tears, prayers, and rejoicing showed me how significant this night was.  It was a great time, especially with Obama’s win.

 

fire

 

fire

 

 

electionnight

 

electionnight

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

