Skip to content

return

August 9, 2009

Ayy, I cannot believe that I am on my way back to the states.  I am currently blogging from Heathrow airport in London (shout-out to my flat 8 loves), and I have to say that it is bizarre to see so many muzungus.  I haven’t updated at all since I’ve been in Kenya, due to dial-up internet (which I thought went extinct in the late 90s).   kenya We stayed with the Masai tribe overnight after their church service (which lasted FOUR hours!).  We weren’t allowed out after 10:00 because we could get eaten by lions or hyenas (seriously).  So, we all made a group trip to the choo (or long-drop)…aka a hole in the ground.  I have to say it was quite an adventure.  I loved looking up and being surrounded by nothing but stars.  Civilization was at least an hour away–no electricity, no running water, not even a fire.   The way the Masai worship is truly incredible.  I can’t describe how awesome it is to worship the same God with brothers and sisters from all over the world.  You can really tell that they have committed their entire hearts and minds to God. kenya I’m not normally a “blurry” picture taker (ever since I received my first C for my first photo assignment sophomore year because the photo was slightly out-of-focus…), but I had fun messing with a shallow dof and blur to capture the emotion of this tribe. kenya

kenya

kenya

kenyaMasai Mara on a safari.  Our car only saw 3 out of the big 5 (elephant, lion, buffalo…no leopard nor rhino).  The sunsets and sunrises were really incredible. kenya

kenyaDid I mention that our car got STUCK in the mud by the watering hole while we were watching these LIONS? All the other vans were laughing and telling us that we were going to be lunch for the lions, which I didn’t think was funny because we really couldn’t get out of the car to push.   kenya

kenya

kenya

kenyaGiraffes kissing (Andrew & I also had the opportunity to walk with the giraffes at Crescent Island).  These two babies came right up to our van.  One practically stuck his head inside the driver’s window!

kenyaGiraffe picking nose?

africa

I’m going to end this post with a sunset

Overall, my Africa trip was an INCREDIBLE experience.  I really feel called to return…just waiting for God’s direction to tell me when/where/how.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Peggy Trygstad permalink
    August 9, 2009 5:36 pm

    Megan,

    These pictures are amazing! What a great artist you are.

  2. Lisa permalink
    August 10, 2009 8:03 pm

    Unbelievable photos, as usual. I’m so glad that you had such an incredible trip.

    Thanks for the shout-out, haha. Once you are home and rested I can’t wait to hear more about your adventures. Love you!

Trackbacks

  1. 2009 « photoFREAK

Leave a Reply

