Skip to content

75th anniversary

November 8, 2009

One of the staff photographers at The Muskegon Chronicle has one of my favorite quotes taped to her cubicle:  “Get into what you are doing and remind yourself why you got into this business,” said by the previous photo editor, Greg Dorsett.  This popped into my head as I walked around Muskegon’s Veterans Memorial Park for the 75th anniversary celebration.  Before I arrived, I was almost dreading this assignment because it didn’t seem like it was going to be that visually exciting.  However, I am reminded again and again of WHY I am a photojournalist.  I get the opportunity to document important moments in our town’s history.  I get to meet amazing people every day who tell me their stories.  I get to make a difference in people’s lives.  Let’s just say that I walked proudly around the ceremony with camera in hand, staring at the hundreds of veterans who have served our country and kept me safe.  Even though I’m not super excited about my take, I was reminded to be thankful and proud to be an American.

 

Veterans Memorial Park 75th Anniversary

Veterans Memorial Park 75th Anniversary

Muskegon’s Veterans Memorial Park’s 75th Anniversary | for The Muskegon Chronicle

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

