Skip to content

2009

December 31, 2009

2009 has been quite a year, as every year is special in some way.  I always keep life interesting; in fact, I have vowed to myself to never “just get by” and “settle.”  I hope I will always be YOUNG at heart even though I feel like I keep getting so OLD every year.

 I reflect back to January and am amazed at how far I have come as a photographer, and as a student;  how much I have developed in my career, in my faith, in my independence.  (scroll down if you want to skip my rambling and just see photos).

My 2009 resolutions:  

å Take risks
√• Trust  what God has planned for me
√• Don’t sweat the small stuff
√• Pick up an old hobby (piano, oboe, dance, gymnastics…)
å Get out of the country and make a difference
   • Live on my own

Surprisingly, I managed to complete 5/6 goals.  WOW that might be a record.  

Risks:  Yes, there have been times when I didn’t jump off the bridge, but there were definitely many risks that were taken in relationships, career decisions, business plans, trying some funky food in Africa, etc.

Trusting God:  Something I am always working on, but I can remember several BIG times when I let go and let God.  Trust me, it’s worth it.

Small Stuff:   My road rage has subsided a bit when I am stuck behind someone going 10 under the speed limit in the left lane;  I take a breath instead of huffing and puffing when people have a million things in their grocery cart as I have one at 11:00 p.m.; I’ve learned to just SMILE when little inpatient moments happen.

Old Hobby:  Thankfully my neighbors don’t have to be blown away by the awesomeness of my oboe talent (please note the sarcasm); instead, I did pick up playing the piano again, AND I took a ballet class my last semester at ‘Cuse.  (you can see the embarrassing final dance here).  I’ve attempted to do a back walkover to impress people, but I ended up crashing to the floor with a sore back.  Man, I am getting old.

Out of the Country:  YES , YES and YES!  I’ve been to SEVEN other countries this year, but my favorites were Uganda and Kenya.  These two trips were life-changing, and I would definitely recommend going on a missions trip to ANYONE.  These experiences inspired me to pursue working abroad in the future…

Living on My Own:  Jumping on this one a little late…I will be finally moving out of my parent’s house mid-January 2010 to head to Brooklyn for a few months to work for MediaStorm.  Therefore, didn’t quite get this in before the New Year, but I was OK saving money for the past four months.  Thanks mom and dad.

For 2010:

• Cut back on caffeine & sugar (I was on a heart monitor this week…no joke!)
• Keep a consistent workout schedule (even if it is only 2x’s a week)
• Make time for GOD everyday (reading the Bible, journaling, etc)
• Share GOD’s LOVE
• Connect with an international nonprofit/NGO to work with by the end of the year to make a difference
• Get out of my comfort zone (physically, photographically, spiritually, relationally….) 

Now for the photos…

MY favorites of 2009 (not necessarily my best photos). BEWARE, this is WIDE edit, which makes for a LONG post.

SPORTS

PEOPLE




     




PICTORIAL/PERSONAL


MULTIMEDIA

Life Is What You Make Of It

I’m Alive


LIME GREEN PHOTOGRAPHY

I think one of the biggest compliments I received about my work this year was from one of my professors during senior portfolio review.  He said he could tell that people were comfortable around me by the way they appeared in photographs.  As a photographer, I live to break down the superficial facade that everyone fronts to see the heart of each person through their eyes, their smile.  

A HUGE THANK YOU to all of my clients and subjects for choosing me as your photographer.  I have LOVED being a part of some of the greatest, most important moments in your lives.  

GOD has blessed me SO incredibly much in 2009.  I’m extremely excited for the adventures in 2010, whether it be some crazy weddings, cool seniors, wacky families, or more heartbreaking, international (or local) stories.  

BRING IT ON!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Carissa permalink
    December 31, 2009 5:39 pm

    Wow, I don’t think I’ll ever look at those doors in newhouse the same way ever again! As always, your work amazes me.

Leave a Reply

