Skip to content

leaving the city that never sleeps

June 6, 2010

New York City | May 2010

Adjusting to living in one of the largest cities in the world was quite a trip.  I have lived in London and Los Angeles before, but NYC is vastly different than either of these.

I read about 14 books in three and a half months with my hour commute to and from work, and spent more money on food than I think I ever have in my life (you can’t buy bad food in NYC).  I was never robbed nor attacked (contrary to my mother’s concerns), although I have to admit I was a little freaked out when I got lost on the subway at 2:00 a.m. (thankfully Brendan was with me!).

Even with the hustle and bustle, people were still friendly.  I once had a neighbor dig my entire car out of the snow for me when I asked to borrow his shovel.  Another few helped me replace my tire while wearing their nice work clothes in the middle of February.  I LOVED the church I went to on the East Side because it was small and felt like a community in the midst of several million people.

MediaStorm became my family.  I have to admit I was intimidated at first because I was working with some of the top multimedia producers/designers/storytellers.  But, in the midst of the hard work, we always made time to eat lunch together and occasionally made a Dewey’s run for some gummi bears and chocolate (if you live in NYC, it’s definitely worth the trip to DUMBO).  Everyone in the office was incredibly friendly and supportive of each other’s projects.  I have to say that I am immensely thankful for the time they invested into teaching me to be a better producer and storyteller, as well as inspiring me to start working on my own long term stories.

I won’t miss the polluted air, the pricey EVERYTHING, the long commute, nor the traffic of the city.  But I will miss the people, the creativity, the culture, the diversity, and the city that never sleeps.

And now, I’m trying to adjust to living in the town that closes at 10 p.m.  Hello Michigan!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

