Skip to content

push

July 12, 2010

No matter what the profession, it is important to push yourself.

Push yourself to try something new.
Push yourself to break the boundaries you’ve set for your life plan.
Push yourself to destroy routine.
Push yourself to have fun.

I’m by no means a fashion photographer.  In fact, I entered into this shoot a little self-conscious because it is an area of photography that I have little experience in.  My closet is filled with solid tank-tops, cardigans, hoodies, and jeans…nothing too outlandishly fashionable.  Don’t get me wrong–I’m not living in the ’90s, but none of the clothes in this shoot were mine.

My strengths definitely lie in photojournalism, portraiture, and lifestyle photography.  It’s easy to be comfortable with what you are good at.  And it might seem crazy to plan a shoot in the midst of wedding season…

But I felt an urge to push myself.

Whether these turned out to be “portfolio-worthy” or not, it didn’t matter because I had a blast PLAYING.  It is SO important to shoot for yourself once and a while.

Always be passionate about what you do, or don’t pursue it at all.

Thank you so much to everyone on the shoot.  You all were fun and great to work with!

Hair & Makeup: Brittney Lynn Yabs
Styling: Stacey Seewald
Models: Stacey Seewald, Caitlan Klein, and Sara Gibson.

Enjoy your Monday!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2010 1:53 pm

    Hey Megan, I just commented on your photo on APAD. Looking at the set I think you have some really solid photos. My favorite is the fourth from the top.

  2. lorraine klein permalink
    July 22, 2010 11:15 pm

    I love your perspective, composition, and creativity. I also love one of your fun models, my daughter, Caitlan. Thanks for helping launch Brittney’s career. God bless you.
    LK

Trackbacks

  1. [188] Inspiration, Part Two. « this world around you

Leave a Reply

