Skip to content

the deep midwest

August 13, 2010

I recently returned from a two-week trip with my boyfriend in the deep midwest for a few of his golf tournaments.  We experienced a true heat wave (heat index of 110…with humidity!), many hours of barren land (I was excited to see cows), and a killer lightning storm.  No matter what the trip…we always make it an adventure.

The barren wilderness of Kansas.  I guess I was perplexed.

Pretty typical.  Me with my camera, Brendan with golf clubs, golf on TV….

Prepping for the tournament.

…while I’m busy working.

I would call this the Lake of the Living Dead.  These dead trees seem to be growing out of the water.  Anyone know what this phenomenon is?

We visited some cute kids in Kansas City at Pastor Tim & Maria’s house.

I whined and begged to go up the St. Louis arch on our way down to Kansas (how often is one in St. Louis?!).  We didn’t have enough time, so when Brendan suggested going on our way home, I was SO EXCITED!

Getting up to the arch is actually kind of freaky.  I love roller-coasters, but this is another extreme.  You are squished into a little cubicle with four other people, very poor air circulation, and it is a slow climb to the top.  But, it is a pretty sweet view.  This couple seemed to be enjoying their trip.

I thought this was a cute moment  under the arch.

After debating whether or not to pull an all-night drive, we decided to park next to some corn fields to watch/shoot this crazy lighting storm.  I’ve never seen lightning like this before.  Not going to lie, I was a little creeped out balancing my camera on the hood of my car ALONE outside in the middle of nowhere in the middle of a storm (especially after Tim told us the story of the Joplin spook light). Brendan had to stay inside the LOCKED car (otherwise the lights wouldn’t turn off).  Let’s just say that I didn’t last long, and we ended up observing/shooting from inside the car.

Of course an hour later, a cop drives up and asks for our driver’s licenses.  Thankfully he didn’t seem to care that we were storm watching, but he asked that we turn our hazard lights on (hence the red light in this picture).

I live for crazy moments like that with the people we love.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Stephen S permalink
    August 17, 2010 8:37 am

    Hey Megan! Awesome photos! Looks like you had a really great trip. The last two photos are my favorites.

    As for the photo of the lake, was it a reservoir? If so, then there’s trees there because the lake was created and flooded the dry land they had grown up in. :-)

Leave a Reply

